Greetings, Fellow Travelers

Profession (noun)

From Anglo-Norman professioun, Old French profession “declaration of faith, religious vows, occupation”), from Latin professiō (“avowal, public declaration”), from the participle stem of profitērī (“to profess”).

An occupation in which one has a professed expertise in a particular area; a job, especially one requiring a high level of skill or training.

I am a writer.

Yes, I consider it to be my real job, and I consider it to be my profession.

I knew that writing was in me from the time I was a small child, and my grandfather taught me how to make a simple book using printer paper, scotch tape, and a stapler. Writing has always been thrilling to me, even when being forced to write in school for a grade. The more creative freedom allotted, the better. In college, the writing bug bit me hard and fast, and I couldn’t get enough of it, but my life soon took a downturn. Loss, chronic illness and depression soon took their toll, and I ran from the world of literature and into the clutches of the American dream.

Over the past year, I’ve done a lot of soul-searching and deep thinking. I’ve met the most amazing woman who has thus far kept me down to earth and I’ve reacquainted myself with a most wonderful God who wants nothing but the best for me. This past year, I began to write again in full force. At first, it was just a way to cope with my surroundings, but soon it became a desire, a love… and a need.

Now, currently unemployed, I am determined to not just make writing my profession, but to make it my career. My career goal is to become published, not to be rich or famous, but to get paid for doing something I love. Filmmaker George Lucas once said that “[a] talent is a combination of something you love a great deal, something you can lose yourself in – something that you can start at 9 in the morning, look up from your work and it’s 10 o’clock at night – and something that you have a natural ability to do very well.”

I believe that this is what I’m meant to do for the rest of my life, but it’s not going to be an easy road to take, and the journey ahead will be perilous. This blog is meant to be an outlet. It is meant to chronicle my quest to become a published author, but it is meant to be a way to share the things I have learned and discovered along the way. Achieving a goal is about staying focused, but it’s also about staying positive.

It’s not about the destination, it’s about the voyage.
–Stephen
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

