Progress Report #1

“I read in the newspapers they are going to have 30 minutes of intellectual stuff on television every Monday from 7:30 to 8. to educate America. They couldn’t educate America if they started at 6:30.” — Julius Henry “Groucho” Marx
As promised, I have chosen Monday as the day I will post my progress reports. Monday is notorious for being slow, depressing and sluggish, but I’m going to use it to look back, reflect on life and realize how far I’ve come throughout the week and how blessed I am to live in a country where I can be myself and do the things I love without fear of persecution. What’s a better way to beat those Monday blues? I can’t think of any.
So without further ado, here it is.
Right now, this blog notwithstanding, I have two personal writing projects in the works.
The first one is a full-length novel. I’ve been working on it since at least July of 2010, and I’ve been conceptualizing and outlining it even earlier than that. It was originally going to be a short story, and then a short novella. My mother read it and said, “It’s going to end up being a novel, isn’t it?” Responding to that, I tested that theory by dividing the first part into fifths and calling the first fifth “Chapter One”, and I liked what resulted. I don’t want to divulge too many details, since the draft is very unfinished, very raw, and very subject to change, but it is entitled Maiden Flight of the Firebird.
Maiden Flight of the Firebird: work-in-progress
Page Count – 66
Word Count – 37248
The second one is a short story. I haven’t titled it yet, and I haven’t been working on it as long, but considering its progress, it may end up being the very first thing I have published. It began as a simple little story that I threw together for fun while working. While forcing myself to come up with something quick and easy to get written and submitted, this one kept popping up and asserting itself, begging to be fleshed out and formally written. What resulted was a whirlwind of creative fury and imagery the likes of which I haven’t felt or imagined since high school. It’s still a simple story at heart, and the more I read it, the more I’m convinced that it will find its audience.
Untitled Short Story: work-in-progress
Page Count – 5
Word Count – 3049
And that’s what I’ve been working on. I’ll be posting my progress right here every Monday. Remember, if you like what you see here, follow me, leave a comment, and tell your friends. See you next week, readers.
–Stephen
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

